Schengen Travel Insurance

Schengen Travel Insurance

travelSchengen Travel Insurance

Schengen Travel Insurance is a type of insurance policy specifically designed for travellers visiting the Schengen Area in Europe.

The Schengen Area is a zone comprising 27 European countries that have abolished passport control at their mutual borders, allowing for free and unrestricted movement of people within the area.

This zone covers most of the EU countries, except for Ireland, Bulgaria, Romania, and Cyprus. In addition, non-EU countries such as Norway, Iceland, Switzerland, and Liechtenstein are also part of the Schengen zone

These countries have agreed to common visa policies for short stays. To obtain a Schengen visa, travellers are often required to provide proof of travel insurance that meets certain criteria.

The Schengen Travel Insurance must typically cover medical expenses, emergency medical evacuation, and repatriation of remains. The minimum coverage amount is specified by the Schengen regulations, and it is usually around 30,000 euros.

It’s important to note that the coverage requirements may vary slightly among the Schengen countries, so it’s advisable to check the specific requirements of the country you plan to visit.

Schengen Travel Insurance provides financial protection in case of unexpected medical emergencies during the trip, ensuring that travellers have access to necessary medical care without a significant financial burden.

Schengen Visa

Certain citizens need to apply for either a short stay visa or an airport transit visa – see here 

The European Union has a list of countries whose citizens require a visa – see here